Mats Schwertner

Lawyer, Associate
HOME > Team > Mats Schwertner

Fokus

At MTR Rechtsanwälte, Mats Schwertner focuses his advice on commercial and corporate law, contract law and general civil law. Here he is the contact person for national and international clients. He is also entrusted with the conduct of complex civil law proceedings.

Sprachen

  • German
  • English
  • French
  • Italian

Mitgliedschaften

Vita

Mats Schwertner studied law at the University of Bayreuth and the Westphalian Wilhelms University of Münster. During his studies, he focused on tax law. During his legal clerkship, he devoted more time to commercial law and contract law and to business law in the legal department of a large chemical company. As a research assistant at the law firm Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek, he also deepened his knowledge of corporate law, M&A and venture capital. He was admitted to the bar in 2022 and worked for the law firm Taylor Wessing in the areas of litigation and insurance law. He joined the team of MTR Attorneys at Law in 2023.

CV

  • 2012 – 2014 Study of law at the University of Bayreuth
  • 2014 – 2018 Law studies at the Westphalian Wilhelms University of Münster
    Focus on tax law
  • 2018 – 2021 Legal clerkship at the District Court of Hagen with the following stations: Bayer AG (legal department, commercial law), OrthKluth Rechtsanwälte, Central Department of the Faculty of Law at the University of Hagen, Hagen Public Prosecutor’s Office, Hagen District Court
  • 2021 Research assistant at Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek in the areas of corporate law, M&A and venture capital
  • 2022 Admission to the bar
  • 2021 – 2022 Ass. jur. and lawyer at Taylor Wessing with work in the areas of litigation and insurance law

Mats Schwertner

Rechtsanwalt, Associate
HOME > Team > Mats Schwertner

Fokus

Bei MTR Rechtsanwälte legt Mats Schwertner den Schwerpunkt seiner Beratung auf das Handels- und Gesellschaftsrecht, Vertragsrecht und allgemeines Zivilrecht. Hier ist er Ansprechpartner für die nationale und internationale Mandantschaft. Zudem ist er mit der Führung komplexer zivilrechtlicher Verfahren betraut.

Sprachen

  • Deutsch
  • Englisch
  • Französisch
  • Italienisch

Mitgliedschaften

Vita

Mats Schwertner studierte Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Bayreuth und der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster. Den Schwerpunkt legte er während seines Studiums auf das Steuerrecht. In Rahmen seines Rechtsreferendariats widmete er sich verstärkt dem Handelsrecht und Vertragsrecht sowie in der Rechtsabteilung eines großen Chemiekonzerns dem Wirtschaftsrecht. Als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Kanzlei Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek vertiefte er zudem seine Kenntnisse im Gesellschaftsrecht, M&A sowie Venture Capital. Seit 2022 ist er als Rechtsanwalt zugelassen und arbeitete für die Kanzlei Taylor Wessing in den Bereichen Litigation und Versicherungsrecht. Seit 2023 verstärkt er das Team von MTR Rechtsanwälte.

CV

  • 2012 – 2014 Studium der Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Bayreuth
  • 2014 – 2018 Studium der Rechtswissenschaften an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster
    Schwerpunkt Steuerrecht
  • 2018 bis 2021 Rechtsreferendariat am Landgericht Hagen mit folgenden Stationen: Bayer AG (Rechtsabteilung, Wirtschaftsrecht), OrthKluth Rechtsanwälte, Zentralbereich der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Fernuniversität Hagen, Staatsanwaltschaft Hagen, Amtsgericht Hagen
  • 2021 Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek in den Bereichen Gesellschaftsrecht, M&A und Venture Capital
  • 2022 Zulassung zur Anwaltschaft
  • 2021 – 2022 Ass. jur. und Rechtsanwalt bei Taylor Wessing mit Tätigkeit in den Gebieten Litigation und Versicherungsrecht